BUK Student Bags Overall Campus Journalist Award, NOUN VC, MD NCBN, Others Honored

TECH DIGEST – A final year student of the Department of Information and Media Studies Bayero University Kano (BUK), Mohammad Dahiru Lawal has emerged the overall Campus Journalist of the year in the just Campus Journalism Award 2020.

Dahiru who also bagged the best features writer award (print) emerged in a highly competitive process with contenders from University of Lagos, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife; Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, University of Ilorin, University of Nigeria Nsukka among other higher institutions across the country to clinch the much coveted Award.

The award which was hosted by Youths Digest magazine at Nicon Luxury Hotel Abuja, also conferred outstanding personality Awards Public Sector on Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu, the Vice Chancellor of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) and that of Private Sector on Mr Edirin Jerry Wesley, Managing Director of the Nigerian Customs Broadcasting Network (NCBN), while Mr. Abdullahi Haruna Haruspice got a honorary patron award.

Various winners of the Campus Journalism Award are: Abiodun Jamiu of from Uthman Danfodio University as Features Writer (Online), Abdulhaleem Ishaq Ringim of ABU Zaria as Syndicated Writer; Stephen Enoch from Bayero University Kano as – Broadcaster of the Year; Ikulajolu Adesola from Adekunle Ajasin University Editor (Online Newspaper), Solomon Oladipupo of University of Lagos as Editor (Print Magazine); Udeobasi Blessing from University of Nigeria, Nsukka as – News Reporter of the Year and Uthman Samad from Obafemi Awolowo University Ife as – Investigative Reporter.

Other winners of the CJA2020 Award in the various categories are Prince Innocent – Social Media Influencer from Federal University Utuoke, Ileyemi Mariam Omotoyosi – Photojournalist from Lagos State University, The News Digest Press – Pen club from Uthman Danfodio University Sokoto, Kafilat Taiwo – Gender Equality from Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Abeokuta, Victoria Ifeolu – Book Author from the American University of Nigeria and Adeyinka Ademola Abdulrasheed – Development Reporter from Poly Ibadan.

Others include; Yusuf Mutiu – Sports Writer from University of Ilorin, Mohammed Dahiru Lawal – Features Writer (Print) from Bayero University of Kano and Mohammed Yakubu – Upcoming Writer – Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai.

While handing the Award to the overall Campus Journalist of the year, Comrade Auwal Musa Rafsanjani, Executive Director, Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Center (CISLAC) who is also Chairman of the occasion said, “this award is evidence enough that if young people are mentored rightly, the country will have many productive minds that can contribute thier best to the progress of the country.”

The CJA2020 Award organized by Youths Digest Magazine, Publishers of News Digest Online Newspaper, is the third edition for in a series. Previous awardees are Mr. Alfred Olufemi, who was crowned the ‘Campus Journalist of the Year’ 2018, Maryam Abdullahi, who won the ‘Campus Journalist of the Year’ award at the 2019 edition of CJA.

In this years edition, there were over 266 entries from about 50 Institutions from across the country with 30 finalists, 15 Awardees and an overall Campus Journalist of the year.

Reacting to his Award, Mohammed Dahiru Lawal who said he was both surprised and excited when he was announced the winner despite the pool of competitive brains in this years entry, said that, “this is means alot to me, it is an encouragement for me to do more and continue contributing to the field of Journalism beyond the spheres of the Campus.”

Earlier in his welcome address, the Executive Director, Youths Digest, Organizers of the Annual Campus Journalism Award and Dialogue, Mr. Gidado Shuaib said that the CJA has become an undisputable platform that celebrates brilliant and upcoming creative mind in their the ever developing Journalism field in Nigeria.

“This occasion affords us the opportunity to honor exceptional writing talents in our various campuses as they have continued to contribute their quota to National Development over the years.” He said.

The Panel of Judges made up of, Academics and Various Media experts was Chaired by veteran Journalist Mallam Jibrin Baba Ndace.

Various finalists were screened through a five minutes presentation after which the best five were also screened through another round of one minute presentation for the Campus Journalist of the year to emerge.

The CJA which is an Annual event to celebrate outstanding Campus Journalist is being supported by the Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Center (CISLAC), Nigerian Customs Broadcasting Network (NCBN), Image Merchant Promotions Limited (IMPR), Daily Nigerian, National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN), National Communication Commission (NCC) among others.

PRNigeria.com EconomicConfidential.com Hausa.PRNigeria.com
EmergencyDigest.com PoliticsDigest.ng TechDigest.ng
HealthDigest.ng SpokesPersonsdigest.com TeensDigest.ng
ArewaAgenda.com Hausa.ArewaAgenda.com YAShuaib.com